Biden endorses Nebraska disaster declaration for December storm | Regional government

President Joe Biden on Wednesday approved federal disaster assistance for parts of Nebraska hit by an unprecedented storm in December.

The declaration makes federal dollars available to certain entities, including state and eligible local governments, for emergency work or to help them repair or replace facilities damaged during the storm, according to the White House. . The declaration applies to 25 counties.

It also makes federal funding available on a cost-share basis for risk mitigation measures across the state.

Nebraska saw more than 27 tornadoes in the span of three hours and its first-ever winter derecho on Dec. 15. A derecho is a series of straight line winds of long duration.

The White House noted that additional designations could be made at a later date if requested by the state and supported by further damage assessments.

The counties included in the declaration are: Adams, Buffalo, Burt, Cass, Cuming, Fillmore, Gage, Hamilton, Harlan, Jefferson, Johnson, Kearney, Nemaha, Nuckolls, Otoe, Pawnee, Platte, Polk, Richardson, Saline, Sarpy, Saunders, Thayer, Washington and Webster.

Comments are closed.