Social Democrats announce municipal government candidates | Politics

On a rainy day at Nõmme station on Thursday, members of the SDE got off a train in front of reporters. “From the coalition agreement, it is up to us to appoint a district elder for Nõmme so that the Nõmme district will be led by the social democrats for the next four years,” Kaljulaid said.

“Secondly, I think Nõmme is a very green area and it is important for us to stress that greenery, preservation of green spaces and a good urban environment are important. Nõmme also has a good rail connection with the city center of Tallinn, rail transport is very important for us, the development of tram lines, so that parts of the city are connected and people do not have to use personal cars, ”Kaljulaid added.

Businessman Lauri Paeveer will become the Nmme District Elder. The remaining six districts will be led by members of the Center Party.

Joosep Vimm will serve as Tallinn’s Deputy Mayor for Entrepreneurship, Kaarel Oja will be Deputy Mayor for Culture with Natalie Mets to assist with nightlife issues and Madle Lippus will be Deputy Mayor for Culture. mayor for town planning.

MP Jevgeni Ossinovski will leave the Riigikogu and become the chairman of the Tallinn city council with a vote scheduled for Thursday evening.

“I would like to highlight two aspects that are important to me in this post. The first is to increase the democracy of the city council,” Ossinovski said, adding that he also wanted to focus on environmental issues. “We believe this is a wonderful and positive new start for Tallinn and our team will do everything possible to bring about a positive change, which the people of the city have come to expect.”

Members of the SDE municipal government (left to right): Lauri Paeveer, Natalie Mets, Raimond Kaljulaid, Kaarel Oja, Madle Lippus, Joosep Vimm, Jevgeni Ossinovski. Source: Ken Mürk / ERR

Follow the ERR news on Facebook and Twitter and never miss an update!

Comments are closed.